TechNite Awards Nominees Include VT KnowledgeWorks

At a reception today, April 15, 2009, in Roanoke, Virginia, United States Senator Mark Warner acknowledged the nominees for this year's NewVa Corridor Technology Council, NCTC, TechNite Awards.   Here's the press release from the NCTC and two faraway photos from the event.

The awards will be presented at the TechNite Awards Banquet on May 21, 2009 at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center.  Reservations must be made by May 1.  Over 300 of the area's business and technology leaders are expected to be present. 

Nominations closed on March 31, 2009.

Here are the categories and criteria for the 2009 NCTC TechNite Awards and the category nominees.

VT KnowledgeWorks member companies and/or their executives are highlighted in yellow.

Rising Star
This award recognizes a local technology company whose "star is rising."  It may not be a household name yet, but it could soon be another local success story in the NewVA region.

Aegisound/Adaptive Technologies
Design Marketing/Performance Link
Inorganic Ventures
Prime Photonics

Entrepreneurs are a different breed. Sometimes it takes nerves of steel to blaze a new path. This award recognizes someone in our community who exemplifies what it means to be a risk-taker in the technology field.

Kevin Bloomfield, NetVentures
Anne Giles Clelland, Handshake 2.0
M. Tyson Daniel, Esq., LimbGear
Jonathan Hagmaier, Interactive Achievement
James Rancourt, Polymer Solutions
Dan Sable, VPT
Tracy Wilkins, TechLab

NewVa Leadership Award
This award recognizes one of our own who not only succeeds in the workplace, but also leads by example by contributing significantly to the community in which we live.

Stanley Breakell, Breakell
Bev Fitzpatrick, Virginia Museum of Transportation
Jim Flowers, Director, VT KnowledgeWorks
Stuart Mease, City of Roanoke
Andre A. Muelenaer, Jr., M.D., Carilion
Dan Smith, Valley Business FRONT
Neil Wilkin, Optical Cable Corporation

This award recognizes an individual, a group of individuals, company, or other organization that sets the standard for thought leadership and innovation in their respective fields. By definition, they are doing something new or different, and they are doing it well. Their innovation represents a significant technological breakthrough or addresses a great market opportunity or both.

CMR Institute
Interface AdvantageSystems
Moog Components Group
Pixel Optics
TORC Technologies
Wireless Medcare

This award recognizes a K-12 educator in the NewVA region that promotes math, science and/or use of technology in creative ways to transfer knowledge and help develop future technology leaders.

Molly Bullington, Burton Center for Arts and Technology 
Michael Collver, Montgomery County Public Schools 
Dr. Kurt Grosshans, Montgomery County Public Schools
Rebecca Hertling, Montgomery County Public Schools
Cathy Huffman, The Gereau Center for Applied Technology & Career Exploration 
Nancy McCrickard, Science Museum of Western Virginia 
Stuart Rawlings, Cave Spring Middle School 
Kim Williams, Roanoke City Public Schools
Georgette Yakman, Pulaski County High School

Speak Your Mind